Children's Opera Tour

Each May Prairie Fire Theatre tours central Illinois schools performing an original children's opera written by local author Nancy Steele Brokaw.  Learn more about Prairie Fire's Children's Opera Tour.

The Dr. Lloyd Farlee Student Talent Award

About the Award

The award was established in 2001 in honor of Dr. Lloyd Farlee - composer, pianist, choral director, Illinois State University professor (ret.) and avid supporter of Prairie Fire Theatre. Since 2001, sixteen (16) musically talented high school students have been awarded stipends of approximately $500. Many of these students have gone to study music in college and to perform in musicals, operas and concerts. (Awardees are not required to be music majors or minors.)

Dr. Farlee served on the board of Prairie Fire Theater for many years and wrote three musicals for the group: "I'll Be Seeing You," "I'll Be Seeing You Again" and "Words and Music," all set in the era of World War II as USO shows.   Dr. Farlee passed away in December 2007 but his passion for teaching and making music are fondly remembered by Prairie Fire Theatre.

Application and Selection Process

Each spring Prairie Fire Theatre notifies local high school vocal/choral teachers of the Lloyd Farlee Student Talent Award and gives them applications and audition information to share with their students. Awardees are chosen after auditioning in front of judges (selected by Prairie Fire Theatre) and submitting an application along with recommendations. Whenever possible, recipients are featured vocalists at the Prairie Fire Theatre annual Gala.

The application process typically begins in March with the winner(s) selected in April. The application and audition process will be posted on this website in advance. Interested students are also encouraged to discuss the selection process their vocal/choral music teacher.

What: Lloyd Farlee Student Talent Award
Annual Selection Process  (typically in March/April)
Application and Audition
Number of Award Granted:
Minimum of 1 per year
Amount of Award:

Past Winners

2001 - Angela Basolo
2002 - Kate Tombaugh
2003 - Michael Henderson
2004 - Shane Irvin (tie)
2004 - Melissa Basolo (tie)
2005 - Alexander Preller
2006 - Joshua Ramseyer
2007 - Allison Crane
2008 - Matt Skibo
2009 - Mitchell Crain
2010 - Chelsey Coombs
2011 - Brittany Ambler (tie)
2011 - Allison Lokenwitz (tie)
2012 - Emily Honzel
2013 - Anna Prenzler (tie)
2013 - Tessa Eckley (tie)
2018 - Josh Kuhn